Each of the participating Clubs hosts one competition each year and as many disciplines as possible are covered across dressage, show jumping, showing & eventing with the season culminating in a quiz.

All competitions are for teams, with 4 members making up each team and the best 3 scores forming the teams’ final score. Each team taking part earns one point, with additional points being awarded for first to sixth places (12 for first, 10 for second and so on).

Riders must be 18+ and horses must be 4+. There are restrictions as to what level you can compete at depending on what level you currently compete with your horse. Find out more in the rulebook.

Twelve clubs currently participate in the Mercian League; Alvechurch, Bewdley, Bromyard, Bromsgrove, Cheltenham, Copthorne, Frampton, Malvern, Shropshire South, Vale of Arrow, Worcester and Wyvern.

Refer to the Calendar for dates.

Mercian Team Names

Alvechurch has a number of teams which compete at Mercian events

  • Alvechurch Arrows – named after the river Arrow which runs through the valley in which the village of Alvechurch sits.
  • Alvechurch Archers – named after Godfrey Baseley the original writer of The Archers who was born in Alvechurch.
  • Alvechurch Admirals – named after a style of canal narrow boat linked to the Birmingham and Worcester Canal which runs through the village.